The Ten Commandments

In Exodus 20, God gave Moses a list of TEN COMMANMENTS that were to be the bedrock for behaviour of a devout Jew. These formed the basis of all Jewish law. Breaking any one of the commanments was called Sin and needed atonement through sacrifice.

When Jesus came He summarised the ten commanments into just two:- (Matt 22, 37-404)

Jesus replied: 'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.This is the first and greatest commandment.

and the second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself.'

All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.'

However in Matthew 5, 21- 48 Jesus goes far beyond the general interpretation of the ten commandments and sets a much higher standard for the Christian to attain. Are we as Christians working to this standard ?

The Ten Commandments...

1 Trust in God only
2 Worship God only
3 Do not dishonour God’s name
4 Rest on the Sabbath Day and worship God
5 Obey your parents
6 Do not Kill
7 Do not commit adultery
8 Do not steal
9 Do not tell lies
10 Do not want what others have.